Mezzoforte
www.mezzoforte.com      

Discographie

Gallery 

 

  



Founded in Reykjavic in 1977 by four teenagers – Fridrik Karlson (guitar), Eythor Gunnarson (keyboards), Johann Asmundsson (bass), and Gulli Briem (drums) - MEZZOFORTE had their ultimate breakthrough with their fourth album, which was by then the biggest international success in Icelandic music history. In 1983 the band released their first album SURPRISE-SURPRISE, which went international. The Single Garden Party taken from that album immediately hit the charts in Iceland, but also in Japan, Great Britain, Norway, Denmark, Germany and various other countries.

 

The four teens had never dreamed of such a big success when they came together for the band at the age of 15. “Right after our first session we knew that we would stay together.”, says guitarist Fridrik Karlson. “Although we didn’t know each other very well it quickly turned out that we all went for the same type of music and artists like Earth Wind & Fire, Weather Report, George Duke, Chick Corea, Return To Forever or Deep Purple.

 

In the following six years the ‘boy group’ experimented musically and recorded three more records in Iceland, before they came up with their own unique style of instrumental funkjazz.

 

With the success of Surprise-Surprise and the joining of saxophonist Kristinn Svavarsson the quintet moved to England. During the two years the band lived in the UK they released with Observations and Rising and the first compilation Catching Up With MEZZOFORTE two further albums, and toured Europe and Japan.

 

Back in Iceland (Svavarsson had left the band at that time) the four founding members went into the studio and recorded the album No Limits, which was released in 1985. For the first time the band broke with their tradition of being strictly instrumental – the English singer Noel McCalla joined the band for live-gigs and with their tour through Europe MEZZOFORTE’s concert performances gained the reputation of a “must-see”.

 

After No Limits the band took a break from touring and recording, and set up their own studio in Reykjavic. The four (on their own and as a group) got involved with numerous productions, sessions, and concerts of different artists.

 

In 1989, now signed to BMG Ariola they released their new album Playing For Time and did almost all the recording and production work themselves. After the release they went on an extensive tour.

 

Between 1991 and 1993 the band members were engaged in various productions, played gigs, taught music and toured Indonesia and Malaysia with the sax man Kåre Kolve – however they found the time to put together another two albums: the compilation Fortissimos (1991) and their now 10th album Daybreak (1993).

 

In 1994 the four band members went their own ways for the time being. Drummer Gulli Briem left for Los Angeles to study music. Guitarist Fridrik Karlsson played sessions in England and Iceland, took part in the soundtrack of Andrew Lloyd Webber’s musical Evita, and produced other bands. Bass player Johann Asmundsson concentrated mainly on studio work, whereas Eythor Gunnarsson followed his production activities and played with the REYKJAVIC JAZZ QUARTET. They were so busy that it was not before spring 1995 that they met up in the countryside for a writing session. And a couple of months later in 1996 MEZZOFORTE’s so far latest album was released. The period since then was filled with several more gigs and sessions, teaching music, and producing or featuring CDs of other artists.

 

Now in the 21st century, in 2004, twenty-seven years after the band was founded they are survivors of a time of diverse ups and downs. Full of fresh and creative ideas, and curiously about the things to come MEZZOFORTE with all its founding members on board rushed into the studio to record Forward Motion. The sound has definitely matured and although lots of new elements were added, the fizzy MEZZOFORTE-Groove didn’t lose anything of its uniqueness, which has gained international reputation.

 

The co-producer of Forward Motion is by the way no less a person than the German star drummer Wolfgang Haffner, a long-time friend of the band.

 

MEZZOFORTE as a band holds a very special place in their native Iceland. After all they are the first Icelandic musicians to attract the world’s musical focus on the little island. They showed that there is great music and virtuous artists to be found, that are full of joy and energy. MEZZOFORTE paved the way for the triumphal march of many Icelandic and Scandinavian artists throughout the world.

 

 

     
06.July.2012
Mezzoforte
Islands
more >>

12.November.2010
Mezzoforte
Volcanic
more >>

23.January.2009
Mezzoforte
Live In Reykjavik Deluxe Edition
more >>

Home | New Releases | Catalog | Artists | Tourdates | Distribution | Contact

Mezzoforte
www.mezzoforte.com      

 Discographie

Gallery 

 

 
     



Gegründet in Reykjavik im Jahr 1977 von vier Teenagern – Fridrik Karlson (guitar), Eythor Gunnarson (keyboards), Johann Asmundsson (bass) und Gulli Briem (drums) – gelang MEZZOFORTE mit ihrem viertem Album der größte internationale Erfolg, den bis dahin islän­dische Musik für sich verbuchen konnte; 1983 erschien Surprise- Surprise, das erste Album der Band, welches international veröffentlicht wurde. Die daraus ausgekoppelte Single Garden Party stürmte die Charts. Natürlich in Island aber eben auch in Japan, Großbritannien, Norwegen, Dänemark, Deutschland und diversen anderen Ländern.

 

Diesen Erfolg hätten sich die vier niemals träumen lassen, als sie sich als 13- bis 15-jährige Teens zusammenfanden, doch „schon nach der ersten Probe war uns klar, daß wir Jahre zusammenstecken würden.“, so Gitarrist Fridrik Karlson. „Wir kannten uns noch nicht sonderlich gut, aber wir fanden schnell raus, daß wir den selben Enthusiasmus für die gleiche Art von Musik und Künstler wie Earth Wind & Fire, Weather Report, George Duke, Chick Corea, Return To Forever oder Deep Purple empfanden.“

 

In den darauf folgenden sechs Jahren nahm die „Boygroup“ in Ihrem Heimatland drei Platten auf, um nach dem Experimentierstadium zu ihrem ganz eigenem Stil von instrumental geprägtem Funkjazz zu finden.

 

Nach dem Erfolg von Surprise-Surprise zog die Band, mittlerweile durch den Saxo­pho­nisten Kristinn Svavarsson zum Quintett angewachsen, nach England, wo sie zwei Jahre lebten. Während dieser Zeit entstanden zwei weitere Alben (Observations und Rising), die erste Compilation (Catching Up With MEZZOFORTE) und die Band absolvierte ausgedehnte Tourneen durch Japan und Europa.

 

Wieder zurück in Island (Svavarsson verließ zu dieser Zeit die Gruppe) ging die Band ins Studio und nahm das Album No Limits auf, welches 1985 erschien. Erstmalig brach die Band mit ihrer Tradition, nur Instrumentalstücke zu präsentieren – der englische Sänger Noel McCalla stieß (bei Live-Auftritten) zur Gruppe und auf den Tourneen quer durch Europa festigte sich der Ruf von MEZZOFORTE, eine wahre Konzertattraktion zu sein, die man unbedingt gesehen haben muss.

 

Nach No Limits nahm sich die Band eine Auszeit von Tourneen und Plattenaufnahmen und baute in Reykjavik ein Studio auf. Die Vier waren in der Folgezeit, einzeln aber auch zusammen an etlichen Produktionen, Sessions und Konzerten anderer Musiker beteiligt.

 

1989 kam dann bei BMG Ariola ihr neues Album Playing For Time heraus, bei dem sich die Band intensiver denn je zuvor selbst die Produktion und die Aufnahmearbeit in die Hand nahm. Nach der Veröffentlichung folgten intensive Tourneen.

 

Zwischen 1991 und 1993 waren die Mitglieder der Gruppe an vielen anderen Produk­tion­en be­teiligt, spielten Gigs, unterrichteten Musik, gingen mit dem norwegischen Saxman Kåre Kolve auf Tour durch Indonesien und Malaysia – und fanden dennoch die Zeit für zwei weit­e­re Al­ben: die Compilation Fortissimos (1991) und ihr mittlerweile zehntes Album Daybreak (1993).

 

Im Jahr 1994 gingen die Bandmitglieder einmal eigene Wege. Drummer Gulli Briem be­gann in Los Angeles Musik zu studieren. Gitarrist Frederik Karlsson spielte Sessions in Eng­land und Island, war der Gitarrist beim Soundtrack zu Andrew Lloyd Webbers Musical Evita und produzierte andere Bands. Bassist Johann Asmundsson beschäftigte sich haupt­säch­­lich mit Studioarbeit, während Eythor Gunnarsson seine Produzenten-Aktivitäten weiter ver­­­folgte und beim REYKJAVIK JAZZ QUARTETT spielte. Die Jungs waren gut beschäftigt, und so ka­men sie erst im Frühjahr das Jahres 95 zu einer „writing session“ auf dem Land zu­samm­en. Ein paar Monate später, inzwischen bereits 1996, erschien das bis jetzt letzte Album von MEZZOFORTE. Die Jahre danach waren weiterhin gefüllt mit etlichen Gig-, Session-, Unterrichts-Tätigkeiten, CD-Produktionen von oder mit anderen Bands und Künstlern.

 

Jetzt, im einundzwanzigsten Jahrhundert, im Jahr 2004, siebenundzwanzig Jahre nach Band-Grün­dung sind sie Überlebende einer Zeit von diversen Höhen, aber auch Tiefen. MEZZOFORTE sind wie ein frischer und kreativer Wirbel­wind, gespannt auf die Dinge die da kom­men, ins Studio gegangen um Forward Motion aufzunehmen. Alle vier Gründungs­mitglieder waren dabei. Der Sound hat sich weiter entwickelt, viel neues ist dazu ge­kom­m­­en, ohne dabei aber den sprudeln­den MEZZOFORTE-Groove verloren zu haben, der ihre inter­natio­nale Reputation geschaffen hat.

 

 

Co-Produzent von Forward Motion ist übrigens niemand geringeres als der deutsche Star-Drummer Wolfgang Haffner, ein langjähriger Freund der Band.

 

MEZZOFORTE hat einen sehr speziellen Platz in ihrer Heimat Island inne. Sie waren die ersten isländischen Musiker die es geschafft haben, daß die Welt ihren musikalischen Focus auf dieses Eiland gerichtet hat und verwundert feststellte, daß da ja richtig gute Musik zu finden ist und virtuose Musiker, voller Energie und Lebensfreude. MEZZOFORTE waren mit die Wegbereiter für viele isländische und skandinavische Künstler, die ihren Siegeszug durch die Welt antreten sollten.

     
06.Juli.2012
Mezzoforte
Islands
mehr >>

12.November.2010
Mezzoforte
Volcanic
mehr >>

23.Januar.2009
Mezzoforte
Live In Reykjavik Deluxe Edition
mehr >>

Home | New Releases | Catalog | Artists | Tourdates | Distribution | Contact                 verwaltung